Besan Cookies or Chickpea Flour cookies

Here comes the cookie train!!!
Whenever I think about my visits to bakeries during childhood, I distinctively remember Nan khatais, those soft crumbly cookies which were hollow from the inside. Back then I would be amused by the hole and look forward to it while biting the cookie. They were available in two varieties, one with all purpose flour and the other with chickpea flour. I set out to make the chickpea flour nan khatais yesterday and came out with these cookies 🙂 Why I am not calling them nan khatais is because of the missing hole 🙂 Nonetheless they are enjoyable. While I am still brain storming with my MIL about the parameters to change the next time, I thought of posting these cookies in the interim.
Ingredients:
Unsalted butter, at room temperature – 1/2 cup
Powdered Sugar – 1/2 cup heaped,
Chickpea flour – 1 Cup
Baking powder – 1/4 tsp
a pinch of salt
Cardamom powder or Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
7-8 pistachios, cut into half or chopped finely
Method:
  1. Pre-heat oven at 150C. (I kept it low for nan khatai. You can try normal cookie temperature as per your oven)
  2. Mix together butter and sugar. Beat well until mixture becomes creamy.
  3. Sieve together Chickpea flour, Baking powder and Cardamom powder. If using essence, add it to the butter mixture.
  4. Add the flour to butter mixture, little by little. Keep folding it in gently or mix gently by hands until a soft dough is formed.
  5. Divide the dough into 12-14 equal portions and form small balls of 1 inch diameter.
  6. Place them on a cookie tray lined with butter/parchment paper. Press the pistachios very gently on these balls.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the top is very lightly browned.
  8. Take out the tray from the oven and leave aside for 5 minutes. Transfer them to the wired rack so that the cookies cool from the bottom as well.
  9. Store them in a airtight container.
While you bake these and enjoy them, you can also checkout my other Cakes & Cookies posts.
Besan Cookies or Chickpea Flour cookies

Author: CinnamonNChillies
Whenever I think about my visits to bakeries during childhood, I distinctively remember Nan khatais , those soft crumbly cookies which were hollow from the inside. Back then I would be amused by the hole and look forward to it while biting the cookie. They were available in two varieties, one with all purpose flour and the other with chickpea flour. I set out to make the chickpea flour nan khatais yesterday and came out with these cookies 🙂 Why I am not calling them nan khatais is because of the missing hole 🙂 Nonetheless they are enjoyable. While I am still brain storming with my MIL about the parameters to change the next time, I thought of posting these cookies in the interim.
Ingredients
  • Unsalted butter, at room temperature – 1/2 cup
  • Powdered Sugar – 1/2 cup heaped,
  • Chickpea flour – 1 Cup
  • Baking powder – 1/4 tsp
  • a pinch of salt
  • Cardamom powder or Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • 7-8 pistachios, cut into half or chopped finely
Instructions
  1. Pre-heat oven at 150C. (I kept it low for nan khatai. You can try normal cookie temperature as per your oven)
  2. Mix together butter and sugar. Beat well until mixture becomes creamy.
  3. Sieve together Chickpea flour, Baking powder and Cardamom powder. If using essence, add it to the butter mixture.
  4. Add the flour to butter mixture, little by little. Keep folding it in gently or mix gently by hands until a soft dough is formed.
  5. Divide the dough into 12-14 equal portions and form small balls of 1 inch diameter.
  6. Place them on a cookie tray lined with butter/parchment paper. Press the pistachios very gently on these balls.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the top is very lightly browned.
  8. Take out the tray from the oven and leave aside for 5 minutes. Transfer them to the wired rack so that the cookies cool from the bottom as well.
  9. Store them in a airtight container.
Comments
7 Responses to “Besan Cookies or Chickpea Flour cookies”
  1. Sammi says:

    As a recently diagnosed diabetic I have been searching for non-flour baking ideas. I had the besan on hand, so tried these. Used 1/2 ghee, 1/2 butter. Substituted DiabetiSweet for the powdered sugar; used cardamom. These taste excellent! Mine didn’t look as pretty as your picture since I also substituted a no sodium baking powder; mine were flatter. So nice to have a treat that won’t affect my blood sugar. Thank you.

  2. Nausheen says:

    Good recipe of gram flour egg less biscuit, i was looking for it and find it here.

  3. Nishi Verma says:

    Excellent recipe! I am in love with these cookies so is my family. I was searching for besan based cookies as I have gluten intolerance. First, I was a bit sceptical about this recipe still took a chance and ever since these cookies are hit with my family. I use less than suggested amount of butter and sugar, stil they taste v nice.
    Nishi

  4. Niki says:

    Hi,Looks like a nice recipe to try! Please clarify what CUP size are you using? Most Indian shops stock Cup size where 1 cup = 200 ml whereas 1 US Cup size = 240 ml. Is it possible to give weight in grams for this recipe? Thanks in advance!Niki

  5. ramsharma says:

    the chick pee cookies are my favorites because i am diabetic.&inchick pee flour no carbohidrates rich in protin the only thing is fat so iwould like to ask you shell we use olive or oive butter combination inthis recipe .we can replace sugar with sugar free pdr. or stevia pdr.rest the cookies i makecomes very tasty thanks.you can say it DIABETIC COOKIES.THANKS
    PLEASE DO REPLY ..

Leave a Reply

