Tangy Spicy Kundru Bhat (Ivy Gourd Rice)

[dropcap]I[/dropcap]t’s been a while since I left my job. Yet weekend brings the same kind of lethargic feeling which comes after slogging away through the whole week. Not that I get to sit with my manicured hands as a homemaker :-), but admittedly the pressure on my head is much low now and the whistle blows only once in a while 🙂 Yet I never shy away from giving shelter to that ‘lazy me’ side of me. After all hubby and I need to be on the same wavelength. Right? 😉 And when it comes to lazy lunches or dinner I find sense in making an all in one kind of dish like Pulao or Khichdi. This time I wanted to try Kundru rice. Months or year ago I had read about it in Raaga’s site but never attempted before. I like the inherent sour tinge that Kundru has and we normally make sabzi of it along with Potatoes.  I finally attempted it with some tweaks which are inspired by my amma’s way of cooking.
Method:

  • Wash and boil the rice with few drops of oil and lemon juice.
  • Soak the Kundru in water for an hour. Scrub the surface clean. Set aside to dry. Cut the edges off and slit into vertical halves. If the Kundru seems too thick, cut into four pieces.
  • Heat Oil in a wok. Add Mustard seeds. When they start to splutter, add Asafoetida, Cumin, Cloves, Red Chilli.
  • Add Chana Dal and Peanuts. When they start to brown, add Tuermeric powder. Add Curry leaves and Gree Chilli. Add Kundru and Salt. Mix well. Cover and cook. Stir in between.
  • When Kundru is cooked (the skin will shrink. You can also check by cutting a piece with spatula.) add Tamarind powder or paste. Mix and cook for 2 minutes.
  • Add 1/4 cup of water and Sambar powder. Bring the water to a boil and cook for a minute. Now add rice and mix. Cover and cook for a minute. Turn off the heat.
  • Drizzle some ghee on top and serve hot.
Sending this to Tuesday Bookmarked event jointly hosted by Aipi and Priya
Comments
11 Responses to “Tangy Spicy Kundru Bhat (Ivy Gourd Rice)”
  1. Priya says:

    Wonderful looking ivygourd rice,simply inviting.

  2. aipi says:

    This is bookmarked! My fav ingredients in one bowl! The rice is cooked to perfection n the masala blend is awesome.Thanks a lot for linking this to bookmark event 🙂US Masala

  3. Now Serving says:

    I must eat something before I look at any more blogs – yours is like the straw that broke the camel's back – I have been gazing at such good pictures and yours has for sure made me droooooolll – LOVE this!

  4. Krithi's Kitchen says:

    Ivy gourds with puligare mix… wow this is super simple and awesome..http://krithiskitchen.blogspot.comBreakfast Club – Pancakes

  5. Sobha Shyam says:

    The rice looks awesome..nice clicks..!!

  6. CinnamonNChillies says:

    Thank you everyone for such lovely comments 😀

  7. Suman Singh says:

    I am always, always on the lookout for a good one pot meal recipe and this looks delicious..would love to try this sometime..thanks for sharing..First time to your blog..you have a great space..glad to follow you.

  8. Reshma at masalamangomantra.blogspot.com says:

    Have to try this recipe this weekend…on Yogesh's behest and will let you know how it turned out.Looks too yummy!

  9. Priya (Yallapantula) Mitharwal says:

    Hi dear, thanks for linking this to our bookmarked event. Which part of India are you from dear? The reason I ask is you call Ivy Gourd in Kundru and we also do, but I haven't heard many calling it so. I am from Jharkhand (previously Bihar), so curious to know.BTW, the rice looks total mouth watering 🙂

  10. Prathima Rao says:

    Hey thr!!! This rice makes a fantastic one pot meal!!! Perfectly cooked dish!! Thx for dropping by..U have a lovely space too with some delicious & new recipes..Glad to be following u & keep rocking!!Prathima RaoPrats Corner

  11. Anonymous says:

    Valuable info. Lucky me I found your site by accident, I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

