Sunday Funday Cycle Market – Sneak Peek of Jhandewalan Cycle Market in Delhi

Mom in Law and Moi went on an expedition, the objective being procuring a bicycle for my 5 year old niece. We stepped out with a mindset that buying bicycle for a kid is a cakewalk, you go, pick one, pay, bring home, period! But one look at the prices and variety and we knew we were living in ancient times so far ๐Ÿ™‚ Then I talked to one of my friends who is a mother of a five year old girl and whom I consider the “been there done that” shopper for kids’ stuff ๐Ÿ™‚ She directed me to this well known Jhandewalan Cycle Market. This market exists from times immemorial and boasts of an impressive collection of assembled and imported bicycles, available at reasonable prices. Though we knew about this market well, we were not aware that the price difference between a bicycle here and in a show room would be substantial. So we finally went, picked one and paid, brought home, period ๐Ÿ˜€

One of my good friends who is not an Indian was curious to see how the markets here look. So I took some quick mobile clicks just to send them to her. Being a lover of colourful places and things, I thought these snaps won’t look bad on my blog too. And who knows it might also help some soul looking for a bicycle for their offspring. Alright! I am just trying to be spiritual ok? ;-))

A bicycle for a 5 year old with tubeless tiresโ€ฆ..โ€ฆ..errr let me rephraseโ€ฆ a bicycle with tubeless tires for a 5 year old ??? Still sounds weird? mmm think so …Ok, one last tryโ€ฆ a bicycle for a 5 year old, costs between Rs 1500- 1600 (USD 30~35), if the tires are tubeless and costs more than Rs 3000 if the tires are with tubes. The huge variance is because tube ones are from known brands and known brands don’t do tubeless. Hence tubeless are assembled and cost less. My “experienced” friends with 3-5 year old offsprings, suggested me to buy a tubeless one to avoid the pain of refilling air. I don’t see those young buds racing bikes anyways, so I went for the tubeless one.

Here are some doses of colours and cartoons from there. This is all I could manage to click in spite of the confused and shocked stares I was getting there. After all people come there for business and don’t shock the shop attendants with a mobile camera like I did ๐Ÿ™‚

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

Red, Blue, Pink, Yellow..so many colours the cycles show!

 

 

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

Same Cycles..different angle!

 

If only I had a happy looking cycle like this ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

Kids are really getting serious these days! I see them carrying bottles and toys in these baskets.

 

A man to man discussion. Bargaining isn’t only with the shop keepers ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

Some stuff for grown ups!

 

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

This shop sells only cars and jeeps..for kids that is ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

Cop car for kids! Now you won’t mess with the kid who owns this ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

Found this hanging on a wall! A beautiful blue and pink girlie cycle!

 

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

This is what we got for my pink-crazy niece!!

 

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

Check out the rear-view mirror! Now which girl wud not want a mirror on her cycle ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

I got the seat changed to a mermaid print one! Her favourite, after barbie that is.

 

Jhandewalan Cycle Market

woo…colourful backrest!! Isn’t it??

Comments
8 Responses to “Sunday Funday Cycle Market – Sneak Peek of Jhandewalan Cycle Market in Delhi”
  1. ashwani says:

    good one

  2. sheetal says:

    i m looking for a cycle for my 7 year old n things have drastically changed since i bought his last cycle 4 yrs ago!!! Your insight n preview of jhandewalan cycle market is quite helpful…i better go there rather anywhere else!!!

  3. Hey, does this market has other stuff for kids like strollers, cradles and baby toys etc ? or it is just a cycle market ?

  4. manisha says:

    can you take your car there is there some parking available, I am novice driver and reluctant of congested places.

  5. Vibhu says:

    Hi,
    how is this cycle holding up? I too want to buy a cycle for a 4 year old kid. I went to this market and salesman told me to avoid buying local stuff as the bearings inside it do not behave well after few days and make cycle heavier. I was really confused. I need to buy it in another 3 days. Would appreciate any response from you.

    • Hi Vibhu
      My niece used it only a few times when she visited us in Delhi. SO the cycle is still as good as new. So I would not really be able to comment on how the cycle performs under regular usage. If you intend to teach your kid how to ride a cycle without the support wheels, then I would too suggest to go for branded ones.

      regards
      Sharada

Leave a Reply

