Orange Almond Eggless Muffins | Cupcakes

Orange Almond Muffins

Orange Almond Muffins

Its Spring time here! There is something soothing about the Sunlight. Feels like a Deja vu. Nature seems to be smiling. Birds are in a celebratory mode. Their loud chirps are breaking the silence that was brought by the winter. It so feels like a time for renewal. Time to revive my lost drives and passions. So I look back at my oven and say hello to it. Yes I want to bake again. Feel the anticipation and smell the aroma once more. I start taking out my long forgotten recipe books. There I find my baking Guru Nita Mehta’s recipe Orange Almond Muffins from her book “Eggless Cakes and Muffins”. This has been on my to-do list for years. My mom-in-law is going outbound, so this seems like a perfect occasion to bake and pack this for her trip.

These came out purrrfect! Soft, flavourful, with every bite screaming orange. No, sadly this recipe doesn’t use fresh orange juice or zest (Which I would have preferred), but rather uses Orange Marmalade. But then, looking at the brighter side, these can be made in any season. Another thing I love about the recipes from this book is, it uses salted butter. Sounds weird? But for us folks from India, especially where I live, sourcing unsalted butter which is suitable for baking, is a big deal. Salted butter is what we get in shops at every nook and corner. So these recipes with salted butter are a huge relief. So here is the recipe:

Serving: 18 medium size muffins.

Ingredients:
150 gms (1 1/4 cup) powdered sugar
2 cups buttermilk (mix 1 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup yogurt)
90 gms (1/2 cup) yellow butter (am using salted one)
225 gms (2 cups) flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp soda bi-carb (mitha soda)
1 tsp Orange essence

Swirl Later:
1/2 cup orange marmalade (U can cut down this measure if you prefer them less sweet)

Topping:
3-4 tbsp flaked almonds

Method:

  • Sift flour, baking powder and soda. Keep aside.
  • Preheat the oven at 180C.
  • Beat butter and sugar till soft and fluffy. Add essence and beat again.
    Add 2 tbsp flour mixture and a little buttermilk. Fold them with a wooden spoon. Add the remaining flour and buttermilk also in batches. . The consistency of the batter should be batter should be able to fall from the spoon, but not runny. (Don’t add all the buttermilk at once. I left out about 1.5 buttermilk because I felt that the thickness is sufficient)
  • Whisk marmalade lightly but do not make it smooth.Fold marmalade into the muffin mix, swirling it just once or twice. Do not mix too much.
  • Grease individual muffin cups and pour mixture in them, filling them about 3/4 full.
  • Top with almond flakes. Press lightly.
  • Bake at 180C until done (when tested with toothpick) for about 25 minutes. Remove from oven. Let them cool in the tin before unfolding. Serve.

Brands I have used:

Rajdhani Maida, Tops Baking Powder, Amul Butter, Mother Diary Yoghurt, Fab Orange Essense, Dana Orane Marmalade Thin Cut

 

*Notes

  • Oven temperature and timing vary from oven to oven. Check your manual to adjust the time and temperature so. I have baked them at 170C as per my oven specification.
  • Butter should be soft, not melted.
  • Batter should neither be too thick nor too thin. The batter should be batter should be able to fall from the spoon.
  • Buttermilk should be at room temperature.
  • For best taste, allow them to cool completely. Warm them up before serving.
  • The recipe in the book makes 7 large size muffins. I have used the standard 12 muffins tray, yet was left with some batter.
Orange Almond Muffins Ready!

Orange Almond Muffins Ready!

Comments
2 Responses to “Orange Almond Eggless Muffins | Cupcakes”
  1. SAKSHI SINGHAL says:

    I made this one; used the recipe to make a cake instead.
    And it turned out to be the softest and the tastiest cake that I have ever made.
    I halved all the ingredients, used a little more sugar (because I had bitter orange marmalade) and used vanilla essence since I did not have any orange essence.

    Everyone in my family loved it!
    Thanks a lot for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

